Serving the people of Ashbourne

Who we are & what we do

Ashbourne was formerly an Urban District Council from 1894 to 1974, and was enlarged in 1935 when parts of Clifton, Compton and Sturston civil parishes were added, following the reorganisation of Local Government in 1974 Ashbourne Town Council was formed. Town and parish councils are the tier of Local Government closest to the people and Ashbourne Town council is split into four wards, Belle Vue, Hilltop, Parkside and St Oswald's, thirteen councillors serve a population of 9125. The next tier up is Derbyshire Dales District Council which covers almost a third of the county, including, Matlock, Bakewell and Wirksworth and over 100 Villages, the top tier is Derbyshire County Council which has responsibilities for the whole county (not Derby City, which is a separate council in its own right.)

The Town Council has three committees Planning and Finance meet on the second Monday of the month and Community and Environment on the second Tuesday of the month with Full Council on the third Tuesday of the month. They meet in the Council Chambers at the Town Hall and anyone is welcome to attend.

The Council Chambers are situated in The Town Hall on The Market Place which dates from 1861, the original building on this site was The Talbot Inn, referenced in the 1600's, it also houses Ashbourne's Historical Centre, which opened in 2022.

The Council employs a Town Clerk/Responsible Financial Officer, Assistant Town Clerk, Admin Assistant, Museum and Events Officer a Site Supervisor and a Caretaker.

The 13 members of the Town Council are currently elected to serve for a term of four years.

Notices of meetings are placed in the Council Noticeboards outside The Town Hall, Market Place, Ashbourne . You can view a PDF of the schedule of meetings here Council meetings calendar. Agendas for all meetings are also published on this website.

What we do

Under control of Ashbourne Town Council is Bradley Wood, and Millennium Square on St John's Street, they are also responsible for maintaining bus shelters and seating, the yearly spring/summer hanging baskets, fireworks display in November the Christmas lighting and the town's Christmas events, as well as community events such as 2022's Platinum Jubilee Celebrations. It also assists many charities and clubs with community grant funding and works in partnership with Derbyshire Dales District Council and Derbyshire County Council.

The Council has three committees

  • The Finance Committee is responsible for the Council's expenditure and precept monies: the preparation of the annual budget, Town Hall and all personnel matters.
  • The Community and Environment Committee is responsible for projects within the town, the organisation of annual events including hanging baskets, the firework display, the Christmas lights and Switch On and the Christmas Tree in the The Market Place. In the past few years they have put on free events on the Recreation Ground to celebrate The Platinum Jubilee, The Diamond Jubilee The Queen's 90th Birthday and in 2023 an event for HM King Charles III Coronation,
  • The Planning Committee are consultees and discuss and comment on all Planning Applications received from DDDC within the towns boundaries.

Full Council

Full Council meetings take place at 7pm on the third Tuesday of every month at The Council Chambers, Town Hall DE6 1ES.

Members of the public are welcome to attend and listen or address the Council in the Public Speaking section of the Meeting.

Full Council is responsible for:

  • Approving the Council's monthly payments
  • Approving recommendations on Planning Applications comments
  • Considering and commenting on consultations from Derbyshire Dales District Council and Derbyshire County Council
  • Considering Derbyshire Association of Local Councils Circulars
  • Approving the Council's annual budget
  • Approving the Council's fees and charges
  • Setting the Council's precept
  • Approving the Annual Return
  • Approving all Council expenditure that is not delegated to the Council's Committees or Officers
  • Considering general correspondence sent to the Council
  • Considering reports from the Councillors appointed to outside bodies

Annually, usually in May, The Council holds its Annual General Meeting. At this meeting the Council appoints the Mayor and deputy Mayor for the year, appoints Members to its committees, sets its meeting dates for the coming year and reviews and approves its main policies including its Standing Orders and Financial Regulations.

The Annual Parish Meeting

The Annual Parish meeting is held in May.

The Annual Parish Meeting is not a council meeting and is different to the AGM, it is a meeting of the Parish or Town electors. Electors can contribute to the agenda and in practice these meetings often celebrate local activities and debate current issues in the community. The Mayor of the Town Council, any two Councillors or any six electors can call the Annual Parish or Town Meeting. The Mayor of the Town Council, if present, will chair the meeting.

Ashbourne Wards

Ashbourne has four wards and maps of the wards can be accessed below:



Our committees have specific tasks and can have delegated powers.

Ashbourne Town Council Standing Orders

Town Council Contracts

Contracts the Town Council has with various companies can be found by contacting the Town Clerk.

Our Staff

We have a small team who work together to deliver the range of services we provide. They can be contacted through our office at Ashbourne Town Hall, by phone or email.

We value our staff and as such will not tolerate violence or abuse of our staff.

Carole Dean

Carole Dean

Town Clerk/ Responsible Financial Officer

Sam Higton

Sam Higton

Assistant Town Clerk

Sam Howson

Sam Howson

Admin Assistant

Tim Baker BCAa

Tim Baker BCAa

Museum and Events Officer

01335342291 option 1

Supervisor - Grounds and General Services

Simon Cockersole


Tina Webster

Last updated: Thu, 29 Jun 2023 12:17